Briefe / Mitteilungen

The Swiss Society for Infectious Diseases (SSI) Awards 2020

Veröffentlichung: 01.07.2020
Schweiz Ärzteztg. 2020;101(2728):851

The Swiss Society for Infectious Diseases (SSI) Awards 2020

The SSI and the Swiss Academic Foundation for Education in Infectious Diseases (SAFE-ID) will award three prizes for outstanding scientific achievements in basic as well as in clinical research in infectious diseases, respectively. The first prize will be awarded with CHF 8000, the second prize with CHF 5000 and the third prize with CHF 2000 in each category.

Eligibility: Authors of an outstanding scientific publication in basic or clinical research in infectious diseases. A significant part of the work must have been performed in Switzerland. The paper (or group of related papers) must have been either published or accepted for publication by an internationally renowned peer-reviewed journal between 1st August 2019 and 31st July 2020.

Conditions: Applications must be accompanied by a cover letter including the name and e-mail address of the applicant who will present the work, the prize category applied for and a statement that all authors agree with the application. If the paper is accepted but not yet published, please attach the letter of acceptance. The applicant must be an active member of the SSI. A prize committee designated by the committee of the SSI performs the evaluation. Decisions made by the committee are definitive and not subject to appeals. The award is intended to support a research project of the awardee. The awards will be given to the winners in person at the 2020 annual conference of the SSI that will be held from 2nd to 4th September 2020 at the Palexpo, Geneva. The winner of the first prize in each category is expected to give a short presentation of the work during the award ceremony. The awards will be publicized in the Swiss medical press and on the websites of the SSI and the SAFE-ID.

Deadline for applications: 1st August 2020

Please submit the documents by e-mail to the president of the prize committee: Prof. Dr. med. Roberto Speck, Klinik für Infektionskrankheiten und Spitalhygiene, UniversitätsSpital Zürich, e-mail: roberto.speck[at]

Verpassen Sie keinen Artikel!